13775905_10100293917244943_968682566630597411_nWe sat down with actor Chris Bizub who performs as Stanley in our upcoming production of Death of a Salesman to learn a little more about this veteran performer and French Creek employee!

Tell us a little bit about yourself…

I received my Bachelors degree in Theatre from Baldwin Wallace College in 2009, and I am working to complete my Masters in Arts Administration from the University of Akron. I currently work as a Program Reservationist at French Creek Theatre. I am an avid movie enthusiast, I own from 1,500+ DVDs. I spend much of my free time acting and directing in the Cleveland/Akron area.

What attracted you to be a part this production of Death of a Salesman?

Other than the convenience of the show being performed at my work place, Death of a Salesman is classic of American literature that any actor should want to be a part of.  It’s a fantastically written human story that expertly mixes both humor and tragedy.  On top of all that, I have always wanted work with Fred Sternfeld, and to my great fortune he has cast me in his upcoming productions of Of Mice and Men and You Can’t Take it With You.  Finally, we have a really stellar cast and I am happy to be sharing the stage with James Rankin, Jeremy Jenkins, Stewart Hoffman and Corey Knick who I have all worked with in the past on other projects.

Why should audiences see Death of a Salesman?

Death of a Salesman is such a great show for so many reasons, but I think the important reason to see this show is the characters.  They are well written and human, some of the interactions in this play are so “real” that I feel like I’ve heard these conversations in my own home.  On top of all that the story is just so engaging that each time one of the characters make a mistake, you find yourself yelling at the character “not to do that!” If a playwright can create characters that you feel that strongly about, you know you have a great play on your hands.

Death of a Salesman is about several characters struggle to achieve the American Dream. What is your American dream?

My American dream is pretty simple, I’d like to get married, start a family and continue to work in the theatre. If that’s all I wind up with, I’ll be happy.

Willy isn’t particularly happy with his job circumstances. What’s the worst job you’ve had? Have you been fired? For what?

The worst job I ever had was when I worked for a charter school as an instructional assistant.  When I was hired, I was told I would be providing extra help/individual attention to students who needed it, that turned into me constantly serving as the school’s substitute teacher, and that would have been fine if I had any educational training, but I did not.  On top of that all the teachers saved all their vacation time for the last two months of school when the students were at their worst.  The job was an absolute nightmare.

I was fired from a Coffee Company where I served as a delivery driver, basically what happened was I had gone through a terrible personal crisis that triggered a severe bout of depression, this caused me to have attendance issues at work. Coupled with a few unavoidable car accidents with the delivery truck, I was eventually asked to resign.

Biff & Happy don’t always get along. What did you fight with your siblings about growing up?

I was an only child.

Happy lies about his profession to pick up a girl. What’s the worst pick-up line you’ve given/received?

I was directing a show in 2015, and an actress I had known for quite a long time, and had a slight crush on was discussing costumes with me.  We were discussing her wardrobe for her character and she had mentioned that she had alot of costume options she could use back at her apartment. I said “Maybe we can go back to your apartment and you model a few for me”  this comment resulted in a 4 1/2 month relationship that did not end well. So the lesson here is don’t date actresses.

Have you ever been in a show at French Creek Nature and Arts Center before?  If so, what shows?

A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Bottom) and The Odd Couple (Murray)

 

 

Arthur Miller’s
DEATH OF A SALESMAN

Directed by Fred Sternfeld

A man struggles to earn a living wage after decades on the job. His grown children struggle to make careers for themselves. When hard work reaps little success, their family begins to doubt each other. As relevant now as it was when it opened 68 years ago, witness Arthur Miller’s Pulitzer Prize-Winning treatise on the price of the American Dream. stage.

PERFORMANCES
Jan 13-29
Fri & Sat at 7:30PM
Sun at 3PM

TICKETS
Adults: $16-$18
Youth: $10

Call (440) 949-5200 x221, purchase online at http://www.metroparks.cc/french-creek-theatre-tickets.php or visit the FCT Box Office, open 10AM-6PM daily.

French Creek Theatre is located within the French Creek Nature & Arts Center / 4530 Colorado Ave / Sheffield Village / 44054